volunteersVolunteer leaders are the mainstay of VLTA. Volunteers are its backbone.

Virginia Land Title Association values the time and expertise that our many volunteers offer the association. VLTA appreciates every committee member, board member and all our past leadership. It is the volunteers' guidance that shapes VLTA and the initiatives we take on. VLTA is and remains grateful to these committed industry professionals.

If you’re not involved, you’re missing an opportunity to enhance both your personal and professional “self”. The time has arrived that many of you should be considering giving back to a profession that has served you well. The value of networking with your peers is immeasurable. The opportunity to mentor or be mentored is priceless!

Each year, VLTA offers a Distinguished Service Award and the Volunteer of the Year Award. It’s our way of recognizing those volunteers that have “gone above and beyond” in the past year or to honor a long time friend and advocate of the association.

RonDonnRonald Donn Award

In honor of our past president, Ronald Donn (President 2006-2007), the Virginia Land Title Association Board of Directors has established a scholarship program for newly licensed title insurance agents and newly certified VCTEs who have a desire to improve their skills and increase their knowledge as land title professionals. Ronald Donn was passionate about industry education, and worked to include new professionals in the Convention experience. The scholarship covers full convention registration (lodging accommodations not included). VLTA encourages all who qualify to apply for the award.

The 2018 Ronald Donn Award application will be available in March. 


Applicants for the Ronald Donn Award must demonstrate the following:

  • Status as a Licensed Title Insurance Agent or VCTE, preference to newly licensed or certified professionals (within past 24 months)
  • Membership in good standing with the Virginia Land Title Association – individual or company membership
  • Commitment to attend all educational sessions offered at Convention, both Friday & Saturday
  • Willingness to report on your experiences at Convention for a brief article in the VLTA Examiner Magazine.

The award application is available online and takes about 5-10 minutes to complete. Applications are due by April 1st. The winner will be announced by April 15th. Winners will be chosen based on their answers to the application questions, their adherence to the selection criteria, and their demonstration of enthusiasm for continuing education.

volunteer2Volunteer of the Year Award

This award honors a volunteer who has provided extraordinary service over the past year (July - June). The volunteer can work in any capacity of VLTA - events, education, public relations, legislative, Examiner, membership committees, etc., in addition to those who work behind the scenes (not necessarily serving on a committee). Each year, the Board of Directors will consider quality, character, and length of service and uniqueness of circumstances when choosing the recipient. The Volunteer of the Year recipient will receive a beautifully engraved plaque and FREE registration to convention.

Email [email protected] to nominate a Volunteer of the Year.

Distinguished Service Award

Kevin Pogoda RCDSAThe Virginia Land Title Association has been continually impressed and grateful for all those members in the years gone by that have volunteered above and beyond their services to VLTA. Those members who have contributed their time, passion, and expertise to the association have been the life blood of VLTA. Beginning in 2005, VLTA has honored an individual member of the association who has made significant contributions to, and has made an impact on, the success of our association annually. Recipients are nominated by the President and 1st Vice President and submitted to the Board of Directors for approval.

Congratulations to Kevin Pogoda of Old Republic Title, our 2017 Distinguished Service Award recipient! 

Email [email protected] to nominate a Distinguished Service Award recipient.

Past Recipients

Volunteer of the Year

E. Claire Kennett-2010
Megan Meloon-2011
Deborah Allen-2012
Terri Stitzer-2013
Tracy Milanese-2014
Sonia Kuppert-2015 
Frank Butler-2016
Stephanie Campbell-2017


Distinguished Service Award

Carol Butler-2005
William Page Johnston-2006
Sterling H. Moore-2007
William Amrhein-2008
Alaine B. Donovan-2009
Kay Creasman-2010
Dave Croson-2012
Julie Rutledge-2014
Ronald Critzer-2015
James Windsor, Esq.-2016
Kevin Pogoda, Esq.-2017

Ronald Donn Scholarship

Liz Kestler-2008
Raynelle Ricks-2009
Milika Hobbs-2012
Susan Johnson-2014
Chris Armstrong-2016
Michelle Kaila